Using the 5 areas of the NIST Security Framework to 
 Make Smart Decisions for Your Business 

Small & midsize business (SMB) decision-makers often face uncertainties when it comes cyber-security and risk management practices for their organization. 

The landscape for security and risk continues to change. And for SMBs, the planning and decision-making process is typically left to a C-level person who may or may not be an expert in IT risk management.  Even though they try to make the best choices possible, their planning can have blind spots without a solid framework on which to base their decisions.

Fortunately, the National Institute of Science and Technology (NIST) has created a strong structure that is free to use and provides direction for cyber-security and IT risk management planning.  It’s called the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and has five areas of focus: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, Recover. 

While no plan is perfect, using these areas as a basis is a good start.

At this webinar, we will:

  • Dive into the five areas of the NIST framework
  • Explain what they mean
  • Discuss how to think about them
  • Review practical examples of how they apply to typical SMBs

As always, we will have Q&A so you can take this information back and apply it to your organization.

Watch Now!


Meet Your Speaker



Ben Schmerler
Director of Strategic Operations



Ben works with organizations to develop a consistent strategy for  cyber security, policy & compliance management, system design, integration planning and other technology concerns. He has been a guest speaker, panelist and presenter at several industry events, and has made several news appearances educating viewers about cyber-security best practices.

More from Ben